Chocolate and Marshmallow Camp Bananas over the coals

Bananas with Chocolate and Marshmallows
Bananas with Chocolate and Marshmallows

This is one of those recipes that I am not even sure can be called a recipe.  I am not sure where or when I first saw or ate this but it has been part of our barbecue (braai in  my home language, Afrikaans)-repertoire for a very long time now.  I thought that most South-Africans were relatively familiar with this way of making a quick not so fancy pantsy dessert.  Turned out I was wrong!  I wanted to make this, this past long weekend on our trip away to a farm with some of our friends, when more than half indicated that they have never tried bananas with chocolate made on the grill.  Serious gap in their upbringing!  Unfortunately we rained out before being able to make this delicious, oh-so-easy treat on the coals.

Bananas with Chocolate and Marshmallows
Bananas with Chocolate and Marshmallows

In the mean time we fixed this batch over the weekend at home.

bananas with chocolate and marshmallows over the coals
bananas with chocolate and marshmallows over the coals

This is really a no-nonsense dessert that can be whipped up in minutes.  Perfect for that lazy weekend when you don’t want to do anything but kick back and relax!  Because this requires little cooking utensils (just a cutting board and knife) this is also perfect camp-food.   The chocolate and marshmallows melt and ooze together with the warm banana, making this a very simple but tasty,  sweet treat.

melty, oozy, chocolate bananas
melty, oozy, chocolate bananas

This is definitely one the most fiercest critics , my children, approve!

My fiercest  critic approves
My fiercest critic approves

This recipe serves 4 

Recipe:

Ingredients:
  • 4 large bananas
  • 100 g slab of milk chocolate or more if you are like me, not going to be able to resist popping a few in your mouth while preparing the bananas
  • 4-6 large marshmallows  sliced  or more …… help yourself!
Method:
  • Make a long slit lengthwise into the banana, careful not to cut all the way through the peel,  and fill with blocks of chocolate and slices of marshmallow (you can also use  small marshmallows, they are just not so readily available in our shops)
  • Place on the grill over warm coals (not too hot) and grill in the peel until all the chocolate has melted, the marshmallow has turned gooey and the banana has cooked through.  You will notice that the peal will have turned black.
  • Turn the banana out of the peal with a fork being careful to resist until it has cooled slightly to prevent burning.
Fluffy Marshmallows
Fluffy Marshmallows
chocolate and marshmallow bananas
chocolate and marshmallow bananas
21 Comments Add yours

  1. We’ve done this before too. It’s the best easy kind of messy gooey good dessert. Especially when you are camping or at the cottage.

    1. The messy part is the best part…. I love it when the chocolate ends up all over my little children’s faces! So cute!

  2. Seriously yummy. I made a banana mango boat in the oven a couple of weeks ago in Bam’s kitchen. Both of us have used the concept that cooking the bananas really does sweeten this fruit into some really yummy flavors. I love the response from your QA analyst- with his chocolate face- too cute.

    1. Yes I saw that! Lovely post! I have to admit I think your bananas with mango were much healthier than this version….

  3. Jasline says:

    Absolutely love the combination of chocolate, bananas and marshmallows! So sinful, healthy and delicious all at the same time!

    1. I agree, at least you only use 2 to 3 blocks of chocolate per banana and 1 marshmallow thus making it a not too sinful dessert. Enjoy!

  4. Karen says:

    Easy to do…and they will be a real crowd pleaser this summer when grilling.

    1. I have to admit I have never come across someone who complained or left some over on their plate! Hope you will also be making them!Thanks for stopping by….

  5. I’ve heard of chocolate and bananas, but not adding marshmallows. Sounds yummy!

  6. dskrzycki says:

    I’ve never seen this before. Something new and exciting to try. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Just look at his face, and that tells you how good it is!

  8. Christine says:

    RIDICULOUS! This is SO happening on my next camping trip! 😀

    1. I have never camped but this is also sooo on my menu when we do!

  9. thehungrymum says:

    Guess what I bought today? Bananas & marshmallows! Then I stumble across this delish looking post -I think the universe is trying to tell me something…

  10. Hi sorry for only replying now but somehow I missed your comment…. hope you figured out that you should be making these…. please let me know if you like them!

  11. Maya Oryan says:

    We’re going camping on Saturday, I love your crazy funky idea of dessert!!

    1. Enjoy! Easy to make and little dishes afterwards.

  12. flippenblog says:

    Hoe water my mond nou!

Leave a Reply

