Orange Cake For A Dreary Winter’s Day

Orange Cake
Orange Cake

The weather has been horrifically cold this weekend and I find myself longing for summer days with hot weather and a long glass of icy orange juice beside our pool.  Don’t get  me wrong, winter certainly has it’s perks as well, as I am writing this I am sitting in front of the fireplace with a cup of my favourite tea.  The kids are playing around me and hubby, who’s reading, and our pooches are snoring away in front of the blissful heat all while the wind is howling around the corners…  I have some soup going in the slow cooker and I am counting my many blessings.  Happiness!  Another  beauty of the cold season is that it brings it’s own fresh produce including citrus fruits.  I have been fortunate this season to have some oranges (not much, just 4) on my little orange tree that I keep in a pot close to my back door.  What better way to use these pretty orange jewels than to place them in an orange cake?  Instant comfort I’m telling you!

My own home grown oranges
My own home grown oranges

The great thing about this cake is that the longer it sits on your kitchen shelf the more flavor it develops.  Not that cake ever tends to just stay on the shelf in my house… no matter, it is delish all the time, from the point where it is taken out of the oven up to where the very last crumb is eaten…

My own home grown oranges
My own home grown oranges

Not being too sweet and extremely moist this is sure to light up your dullest winter’s day!  This will also work very well as a warm winter dessert, heated up with custard and some cream.  I added some zest for decoration to zoosh it up a bit.  Make sure that you use a plate with a rim to keep all of the sweet, orangy syrup where you want it:  Close to the sponge that will eventually slurp it all up, locking in all the moist flavor of the cake.

Orange Cake
Orange Cake

I found this nifty recipe here as I did not have a recipe as a starting point.  It was definitely not disappointed.   This recipe makes one ring sized orange cake.  Here is how I went about:

Recipe:

Ingredients:

Orange cake:

  • 1 cup butter (room temperature)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 free range extra large eggs, separated (room temperature)
  • 1 cup sour cream (room temperature)
  • 1 3/4 cup cake flour
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1 t bicarbonate of soda
  •  zest of one orange
Method:
  1. Preheat oven to 180° C
  2. Grease a ring pan well
  3. Beat the sugar and butter with an electric beater until fluffy and it turns pale yellow (I usually do this for 15 minutes to ensure that it turns fluffy)
  4. Add the sour cream and the egg yolks and continue beating until light
  5. Sift together the flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda and the orange rind
  6. Add to the butter mixture and beat until just combined
  7. Beat the egg whites until soft peaks form and then fold into the batter
  8. Place the mixture into ring pan and bake for an hour
  9. Remove from heat and let it cool down for 15 minutes before removing the cake from the pan and placing it on a rimmed plate to reserve the syrup
  10. Pour the syrup over (see below)
Orange juice
Orange juice
Hot Orange syrup
  • freshly squeezed juice of 2 oranges
  • freshly squeezed juice of 1 lemon
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • pinch of salt

Combine all ingredients in a small sauce pan and bring to a boil for about 3 minutes

Pierce a few holes in the cake with a fork and slowly pour the orange syrup over the cake drenching it in the syrup.

Slice of Orange Cake
Slice of Orange Cake

If your family is like mine it will probably not see the next morning to have the first golden, sweet, orangey slice taken from it, which is okay, no harm done, it is delectable freshly baked out of the oven as well.

Enjoy!

0ranges
0ranges
7 Comments Add yours

  1. thefoodery says:

    I like the idea of serving it warm, sounds delicious!

    1. I heated some of it on Sunday eve and served it with custard. I can honestly say it is even better warmed up! Thanks for stopping by.

  2. thehungrymum says:

    Wow, this looks so pretty. I love citrus cakes 🙂

  3. Emma says:

    looks good 🙂

  4. Wow, your home grown oranges are beautiful and this cake looks delicious! I’ve made a bundt cake very similar to this one with both orange and lemon and it was to-die-for. Citrus definitely brightens up one’s day.

Leave a Reply

